This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Print Page | Contact Us | Report Abuse | Sign In | Join
Charles E. Pietri Special Service Award
Share |

This award, previously known as the Special Service Award, was renamed in honor of Charles E. Pietri in 2011.


The Charles E. Pietri Special Service Award (SSA), named for the long-time Chair of the Technical Program Committee, recognizes individuals or organizations who have made a specific, noteworthy contribution to the Institute.  The award can also be given to an organization that has advanced the knowledge and effectiveness of the nuclear materials management field. The eligible organization does not have to be a Sustaining Member of the Institute in order to be considered, however, eligible individual candidates are required to be active members in good standing of the Institute.

Previous Winners

2018 Japan Nuclear Fuels Limited
2012 Yvonne Ferris, Dennis Mangan
2011 Charles E. Pietri

Special Service Award

2011 World Institute for Nuclear Security (WINS) Coordinating Committee
2011 The Brazillian-Argentine Agency for Accounting and Control of Nuclear Materials (ABACC)
2010 William S. Charlton
2008 International Safeguards Project Office, Brookhaven National Laboratory
2007 Shirley O. Cox
2006 Connie P. Hall
2006 Leroy (Lee) Leonard
2005 Norbert Ensslin, Special Service Award
2005 Jerry Johnson, Special Service Award
2004 James Tape, Special Service Award
2003 Russian Methodological and Training Center
1999 Aquila Technologies Group International
1997 Vincent J. DeVito - Career Service Award
1997 Sam McDowell - Career Service Award
1994 Nuclear Material Control Center of Japan
1990 Power Reactor and Nuclear Fuel Development Corp. (PNC) of Japan
1982 E.R. Johnson Associates - In Appreciation
1978 Tri-State Motor Transit Company